Preparing for Health and Media Symposium

17 Jul

Good morning! I have been busy over the past week preparing my presentation for the Health and Media Symposium on Thursday. I normally really enjoy preparing and presenting at conferences, but for some reason, I am particularly nervous about this one. I guess one of the reasons is that it is taking me out of my ‘infection prevention’ confort zone, with an entirely different audience. Additionally, Professor Jenny Kitzinger from Cardiff University is the key note speaker and her work has been very influencial in my PhD, so I really want to make a good impression!  I have a good time slot though – 12:00 – 12:30. This gives me time to settle and listen to the morning presentations (I always find that helps a lot).  Then I can relax in the afternoon. I am really pleased with my final presentation (a big thank you to my previous PhD supervisor, Professor Rose Barbour for her help!). Rose is also coming to the Symposium so good to have that support. I have just done a run through (to my cocker spaniel Dave – although I don’t think he was very impressed!) and I think it is a little too long.  I’ll spend some more time reducing it this morning. However, my distraction today is The Open! What a great competition so far! I am really hoping Phil Mickelson will come good today and win his first ever Open http://progolftalk.nbcsports.com/2011/07/16/mickelson-has-a-real-chance-to-pull-off-improbable-open-championship-win/. Also liking Rickie Fowler (even though his dress sense is pants and he’s gone overboard with the hair straighteners!). See – completely distracted already! Bye for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

